Dynamos FC Origins

Dynamos Football Club was formed in 1963 in Mbare, Salisbury, Rhodesia. The Club was formed at the height of the Rhodesia Front’s racist onslaught which had seen sport being divided along racial lines.

Dynamos was an offshoot of two semi-professional clubs namely Salisbury United and Salisbury City who had disbanded in 1962. The disbanding of the two teams, who boasted some of the best football talents in the then Rhodesia National League, saw the birth of the club whose name was inspired by the old Dynamos Moscow Football Club of old Russia then.

The original team of 1963 which blended the “cream de la cream” of football in Salisbury‘s black community boasted of players who were entertainers par excellence.

Dynamos Football Club made an instant awesome impression on the domestic league by dominating the new Rhodesia National Football league through winning titles;

  • 1963 – Austen Cup
  • 1964 – Austen Cup
  • 1965 – League Champions
  • 1967 – Chibuku Trophy
  • 1969 – Chibuku Trophy
  • 1970 – League Championship
  • 1971 – Nyore Nyore Shield
  • 1972 – Chibuku Trophy
  • 1973 – BAT Rose bowl and Nyore Nyore Shield
  • 1974 – Nyore Nyore Shield
  • 1975 – Chibuku Trophy
  • 1976 – Won 7- 6 in the Cup against, Orlando Pirates of South Africa.

The class of 1963 got age catching up with them so much that by  1975 all the founding members of the Club had either hung up their boots or assumed non-playing roles at the club or other teams, save for Bernard Marriot “ Magitare Lusengo who was the only surviving founder member still active then.

Dynamos Football Club as from 1967 paraded younger players who distinguished themselves   in both Club and National team colors. Young players who captured the imagination of the football industry in Rhodesia up to 1980 compriseed the likes of George Shaya, Ernest Kamba, Kuda Muchemeyi, Francis Nhema, Oliver Kateya , David Madondo , Simon Sachiti, Willard Sarupinda, Owen Chandamale, Clever Hunda, Daniel Ncube, Simbi Chimedza to mention but a few. From 1980 to the present day Dynamos Football Club dominated the league Championships and to date the club boasts of an unrivalled uncalled 21 titles since 1963.

The club also boasts of having produced a record five times soccer star of the year in George “Mastermind “Shaya.

The Club whose corporate colors are blue and white has earned itself monikers like “Dembare, Glamour Boys, “Haina Ngozi” and “Chazunguza” over the years and boasts of more than seven million fans. The club has set a record in the Zimbabwean football folklore by being the first and only local club to have reached the CAF Championship league Final where the club lost 4 – 2 to Asec Mimosa of Cote d’vore in 1998.

“Dembare are credited with the formation of the current premiership in 1993 with the then new league Chairman being the enigmatic Morrison Sifelani (now late). Sifelani was with the club at the formative stages as a player before graduating into club management, upon retirement.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.